COMMISSIONERS COURT OF UPSHUR COUNTY, TEXAS FRIDAY, DECEMBER 30, 2022 10:00 A.M. REGULAR SESSION

A regular meeting of the Commissioners' Court of Upshur County, Texas was held on Friday, December 30, 2022 at 10:00 a.m., with the following members of the Court being present, to-wit:

Present: Todd Tefteller – County Judge presiding, Gene Dolle – Commissioner Pct. #1, Dustin Nicholson – Commissioner, Pct. 2, Mike Ashley – Commissioner Pct. #3, Jay W. Miller – Commissioner Pct. #4.

County Judge Todd Tefteller called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

1. Invocation and Pledges

Prayer was led by Gene Dolle. Pledges to the U.S. & Texas flags led by Dustin Nicholson.

2. Consider and take action on approval of:

- A. The minutes of the previous meeting;
- B. Payroll changes;
- C. Payroll;
- D. Budget amendments;
- E. Accounts Payable;
- F. Accept for recording: Auditor reports; Treasurer reports; Bonds; Oaths; Deputations; Certificates; State and County Taxes Summary; refund of overpayment or erroneous tax payments in excess of \$2500.00; Resolution of the Upshur County Commissioner's Court (#2022-07) for the Upshur County Appraisal District Board Nominees; and, applications for use of Upshur County roads and rights-of way and permit requests.

Motion by Dustin Nicholson with a second by Jay W. Miller to approve items A-F. Motion carried 5-0. Unanimous vote in favor. (SEE ATTACHED)

3. Discuss and take action to appoint one or more members to the Emergency Services District Boards #1 and #2.

This item will be moved to the last item on the agenda.

4. Discuss and take action to appoint members to the Upshur County Historical Commission Board.

Motion by Dustin Nicholson with a second by Gene Dolle to appoint the following members to the Upshur County Historical Commission Board:

Joyce Fountain Henry Jenkins Gordon Jewett Andreana Smith Rachel Stewart Patsy Williams Gwen Jewett, CHC Chair and Marker Chair Eddie Turner, Cemetery Chair

Motion carried 5-0. Unanimous vote in favor. (SEE ATTACHED)

5. Discuss and take action to approve the Judge executing a Pricing Sheet to Pricing Supplement with Transunion on behalf of the Upshur County Sheriff's Office.

Motion by Gene Dolle with a second by Mike Ashley to approve the Judge executing a Pricing Sheet to Pricing Supplement with Transunion on behalf of the Upshur County Sheriff's Office. Motion carried 5-0. Unanimous vote in favor. (SEE ATTACHED)

3. Discuss and take action to appoint one or more members to the Emergency Services District Boards #1 and #2.

Motion by Dustin Nicholson with a second by Jay W. Miller to appoint the following members to the Emergency Services District Board #2 with the following term limits:

| Gaston DeBerry, III – 2 year term | |
|-----------------------------------|---------------|
| Kenny Hankins | - 2 year term |
| Tommie Whitaker | - 2 year term |
| Trevor Larrington | - 1 year term |
| Gregg Price | - 1 year term |

Motion carried 5-0. Unanimous vote in favor.

6. The Court will go into CLOSED SESSION under Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 551 as indicated:

_____ Section 551.071 (consultation with attorney(s));

Section 551.072 (deliberation regarding real property);

- _____ Section 551.073 (deliberation about gifts and donations);
- ___X Section 551.074 and 551.0745 (personnel matters);
- ______ Section 551.076 (deliberation about security audits or security devices).

TO WIT:

- A. Consider personnel matters (appointments, leaves, reassignments, resignations, retirements, termination, termination of probationary contracts, contract extensions)
 - i). Consider candidates for appointment to the Emergency Services District Boards #1 and #2.

The Court went into CLOSED SESSION at 10:30 a.m. to discuss the appointment of Upshur County Emergency Services District #1 Board members.

7. The Court will re-convene into open session and take any action necessary as a result of Executive Session.

The Court re-convened at 11:35 a.m.

Discuss and take action to appoint one or more members to the Upshur County Emergency Services District Board #1.

Motion by Mike Ashley with a second by Gene Dolle to appoint the following members to the Emergency Services District Board #1 with the following term limits:

| Bobby Jenkins | – 2 year term |
|-----------------|---------------|
| Michael Kuza | - 2 year term |
| Kenny Southwell | - 2 year term |
| Scott Mischnick | - 1 year term |
| Cloddie Henson | - 1 year term |

Motion carried 5-0. Unanimous vote in favor.

8. Adjourn.

Motion by Mike Ashley with a second by Dustin Nicholson to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried 5-0. Unanimous vote in favor.

ATTEST:

TERRI ROSS, UPSHUR COUNTY CLERK

Attendance sheet placed into minutes for recording purposes only. Bills previously approved placed into minutes for recording purposes only. Jury payroll placed into minutes for recording purposes only.

